Academic panel

The Academic Panel reviewed the written briefings created for assembly members to support the Expert Leads in ensuring they were balanced, accurate and comprehensive.

The Expert Leads also drew on the expertise of individual members of the Panel to inform their work.

Panel members were chosen on the basis of their expertise on areas of climate change, that Parliament and the Expert Leads felt Climate Assembly UK should examine.

An initial list of members was drawn up by a climate change specialist in the Parliamentary Office of Science & Technology (POST) in Summer 2019. The Climate Assembly UK team at Parliament then worked with the Expert Leads to ensure that this group met the above criteria.

The Academic Panel members are:

Professor Jillian Anable

Professor of Transport and Energy, University of Leeds

Professor John Barrett

Professor of Energy and Climate Policy, University of Leeds

Professor John Barry

Professor of Green Political Economy, Queen’s University Belfast

Professor Jason Chilvers

Professor of Environment and Society, University of East Anglia

Professor Nick Eyre

Professor of Energy and Climate Policy, University of Oxford

Dr Clair Gough

Senior Research Fellow with the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research, University of Manchester

Dr Rosie Green

Assistant Professor in Nutrition and Sustainability, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Dr Jo House

Reader in Environmental Science and Policy, University of Bristol

Professor Tahseen Jafry

Professor of Climate and Social Justice and Director The Centre for Climate Justice, Glasgow Caledonian University

Professor Carly McLachlan

Professor of Climate and Energy Policy, University of Manchester

Professor Dale Southerton

Professor in Sociology of Consumption and Organisation, University of Bristol

Professor Benjamin Sovacool

Professor of Energy Policy at the Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU) at the University of Sussex